IECA announces 2024 board members, officers

March 19, 2024
New board members were welcomed at the association's annual conference in February.

The International Erosion Control Association (IECA) has announced its Board of Directors and officers for the forthcoming year. Matthew Welch, CESSWI, CPESC and Michael Frankcombe have been appointed to the Board of Directors along with Rafael “Nicky” Araujo, PE, as a returning member. New board members were officially welcomed at the IECA Annual Conference in Spokane, Washington, in February.

Additionally, officers for the forthcoming year have been elected, comprising a diverse group of industry leaders:

  • Jerry Sanders, CPESC – President
  • Thomas Schneider, CPESC – Governance Vice President
  • Andrew Macleod, CPESC, CPSS – Treasurer
  • Gustavo Salerno, CPESC, PE – Secretary
  • Rafael (Nicky) Araujo, PE – Past President, Global Development Vice President
  • Sonny Johns, CPESC – Committee Vice President
  • Nancy Schumm, CPESC, CMS4, CWS – Education Vice President
  • Kellyn Campbell, CPESC – Young Professionals Vice President
  • Matthew Welch, CESSWI, CPESC – Director-at-Large
  • Michael Frankcombe – Director-at-Large
  • Charles Riling, Jr., TRETCO, ABI, CESSWI – Parliamentarian

"It is crucial that our board mirrors the varied demographics and geographical representation of our membership," said IECA CEO Samantha A. Roe, IOM. "The current lineup stands as a testament to this dedication."

Roe continued, "We are excited to welcome Matthew Welch, whose expertise in chapters and young professional initiatives enriches our board, and Michael Frankcombe, whose over 30 years of dedication to our Australasia chapter enhances our collective knowledge. This assembly epitomizes the steadfast spirit, determination and resolve of our industry, positioning IECA for future success."